How many times have you wanted to ring the neck of the doucher, either over the phone or over the counter, that tells you this statement? Guilty I am, but I am also torn. You see it isn't my desire to ruin your trip, in a rental car, it is my company's duty. I really didn't do it, I can see why you're pissed, but I didn't have anything to do with it. Now, where I work, if you choose to use a debit card, I have to (HAVE TO) run a credit check. I really don't even do anything, the computer recognizes the card swiped as a debit card issued from a bank. This is your personal bank, and all of your credit information resides there as well.
My job, while you are chatting about how great your vacation is going to be, is to carry on the conversation until I can find a break in your exciting itinerary to tell you devastating news. Do you know how hard it is to do that?! Do you think that I take part in any joy from this? The answer is a firm, "hell no!" I would much rather be able to rent you the vehicle rather than get told how much of a piece of shit I am. I DIDN'T DO ANYTHING! All I did was deliver a company policy statement, swiped a card and crossed my fingers it would go through because I am not a huge fan of being berated. I didn't make an announcement on your behalf, "Hey everybody, guess who has had trouble in the past paying bills/ made a major purchase/ been in a divorce/ lost their job?" The point is, all I did was deliver the bad news I never wanted to (and I have to do it nine times a day, and I get cussed out nine times a day.)
The person regurgitating the statement, "I'm sorry that is just company policy," is really trying to say, "I hate my job, so please don't yell at me about it." I'm on your side! Let's take this Mother F***** down, together!
